The Elbert P. Tuttle U.S. Courthouse in Atlanta, where the Eleventh Circuit decided Zurich American Insurance Co. v. First Solar Electric

Eleventh Circuit - Georgia

Zurich Paid Under the Small Deductible Three Times. Georgia Would Not Let It Take the Big One Back.

Waiver attached to the checks, not to the coverage call behind them.

By Andy Rouhafzai, Founder4 min read

Photo: Wikimedia Commons / Eoghanacht

In short

The Eleventh Circuit held that Zurich waived a $2.5 million flood deductible on three of five rain events because it paid three unconditional $200,000 advances under a $100,000 water-damage determination without reserving rights. Waiver attached to the payments rather than the coverage call: the two events Zurich never advanced money on were vacated for a jury to decide.

Zurich's claim-file system asked its own adjuster a yes-or-no question about the February 5, 2020 rain event: was it "caused by a flood?" He marked No.1 That entry, plus three checks mailed four months later, cost Zurich a $2.5 million deductible on each of three events.1

The Eleventh Circuit published Zurich American Insurance Co. v. First Solar Electric LLC on October 22, and Judge Kidd opened it with a line adjusters will repeat for years: "Golfers get mulligans. But in this case, the insurance company does not."1 First Solar was building a 1,038-acre solar plant in Georgia under a master builders risk policy when five heavy rain events hit the site between December 2019 and April 2020. Water damage carried a $100,000 deductible per event. Flood carried $2.5 million.1

Solar array along SE Mill Road in Dawson, Georgia, the kind of utility-scale installation at issue in the Zurich builders risk dispute
Photo: Wikimedia Commons / Michael Rivera

Zurich adjusted all five as water damage, then re-characterized them as flood, concluded no single event cleared $2.5 million, and closed the claim owing nothing.1 The court held the flood deductible did apply as a matter of policy language. First Solar still kept its judgment on three of the five events, because Zurich gave the right away before it ever asserted it.

What was already in the file when the checks went out

The waiver evidence was almost entirely Zurich's own paper. Adjuster Scott Klaben inspected the site in February 2020 and recorded the losses as water damage the next day. He marked "No" on the system's flood prompt. He emailed his claims manager that the first three events each "carrie[d] a $100K deductible." First Solar's broker testified to several conversations in which Klaben said the claims would be treated as water damage. In June 2020 Klaben approved three $200,000 advance payments, noting the $100,000 deductible, and Zurich reserved nothing.1

What Zurich did not put in the record did the rest of the work. Klaben was never deposed, and Zurich offered no evidence of what prompted the change in position, resting instead on a pure legal argument that Georgia does not permit waiver of a deductible.1 Georgia does permit it. A deductible is a payment limitation imposed for the insurer's benefit, which puts it squarely inside the category of conditions an insurer can relinquish.2 Waiver can be implied from "decisive, unequivocal conduct reasonably inferring the intent to waive."3

Zurich's August 4, 2020 status report was the first time it told First Solar the flood deductible would apply. By then the right was gone: a letter is "wholly ineffective to prevent a waiver that has already occurred," and the court fixed the waiver date at June 11, 2020, the day the checks issued.1

Why two of the five events are still open

Zurich made the same water-damage call on all five events. It only mailed money on three.

Source: Zurich American Ins. Co. v. First Solar Electric LLC, No. 25-10606 (11th Cir. Oct. 22, 2026), slip op. at 4-5, 17-20, 27.
Rain eventAdvance paymentReservation before paymentOn appeal
Dec. 13, 2019$200,000 (June 11, 2020)NoneWaiver as a matter of law; affirmed
Feb. 5, 2020$200,000 (June 11, 2020)NoneWaiver as a matter of law; affirmed
Feb. 13, 2020$200,000 (June 11, 2020)NoneWaiver as a matter of law; affirmed
Mar. 3, 2020NoneAug. 4, 2020 status reportVacated; waiver goes to a jury
Apr. 18, 2020NoneAug. 4, 2020 status reportVacated; waiver goes to a jury

For the March 3 and April 18 events, no advance payment preceded the status report, and the conduct the court relied on all pertained to the three paid events. So waiver there is a jury question rather than a judgment, and the Eleventh Circuit vacated those portions and remanded.1 The coverage determination was never the thing that bound Zurich. The unconditional payment was.

That changes what to pull on a multi-event file, and the order to pull it in. Every advance and undisputed payment, with whatever accompanied it. The claim-file entries and internal correspondence that fixed the deductible before the money moved, which sit on the carrier's side and arrive through a request, not through your own tidy file. The date of the carrier's first written reservation, set against the date of its first payment. Where the second date comes first, the gap is the argument, and it runs event by event rather than claim-wide. A client with four paid events and one unpaid one has four strong positions and a fifth worth arguing.

This was a commercial master builders risk policy, not an HO-3, and the court reached waiver through Georgia common law on two questions of first impression, predicting how the Georgia Supreme Court would rule.1 The Eleventh Circuit covers Georgia, Florida and Alabama; other states treat deductible waiver differently, and some do not treat a deductible as waivable at all. What travels is the sequence the holding turned on, which exists in the file of every claim where a carrier relabels a loss and reaches for a larger deductible after paying under a smaller one. A named-storm deductible dispute and an argument over what counts as flood both run on the same question of which characterization the carrier adopted first, and when it put that in writing. As the Idaho Supreme Court showed this month, whether a file gets in front of the factfinder is its own fight, separate from what the file says.

What adjusters are asking about the deductible switch

Does paying a claim always waive the insurer's right to apply a larger deductible later?

No. Waiver turned on an unconditional payment made under a coverage determination that fixed the smaller deductible, with no reservation of rights attached. Zurich made the same water-damage call on all five rain events, but the Eleventh Circuit found waiver as a matter of law only on the three it advanced $200,000 on, and vacated the judgment on the two it never paid so a jury can decide waiver by conduct (Zurich American Ins. Co. v. First Solar Electric LLC, No. 25-10606 (11th Cir. Oct. 22, 2026), slip op. 17-20, 27).

Can a carrier cure the problem with a reservation-of-rights letter sent after the payment?

No. Zurich's August 4, 2020 status report was its first written notice that the $2.5 million flood deductible would apply, and the court held such a letter is 'wholly ineffective to prevent a waiver that has already occurred,' fixing the waiver date at June 11, 2020, when the checks issued (slip op. 18, quoting Sargent v. Allstate Ins. Co., 303 S.E.2d 43, 47 (Ga. Ct. App. 1983)).

Does this help on a residential homeowners claim?

It depends on your state. First Solar involved a commercial master builders risk policy, and the Eleventh Circuit decided two questions of first impression under Georgia common law by predicting how the Georgia Supreme Court would rule. The court covers Georgia, Florida and Alabama; elsewhere, whether a deductible is waivable at all varies, so check your own state's waiver and estoppel law before relying on the holding.

What should a public adjuster request when a carrier relabels a loss and raises the deductible?

The carrier's own adjustment record, because that is where the waiver evidence sat in this case: claim-file entries characterizing the cause of loss, the system's own coverage prompts and how they were answered, internal correspondence naming the deductible, and anything that accompanied each advance or undisputed payment. Then date the carrier's first written reservation against the date of its first payment, event by event.

Sources cited

  1. Zurich American Ins. Co. v. First Solar Electric LLC, No. 25-10606 (11th Cir. Oct. 22, 2026)— U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
  2. Sargent v. Allstate Insurance Co., 303 S.E.2d 43 (Ga. Ct. App. 1983)— CourtListener
  3. Kennestone Hospital, Inc. v. Hopson, 538 S.E.2d 742 (Ga. 2000)— CourtListener

Built for where claims are going.

Carrier automation is not slowing down. claimOS gives the recovery side the same leverage: AI drafting grounded in the file, weather evidence on demand, and a record that holds up under review.